PDA

View Full Version : 85 A-Sedan Mustang for Sale

Rob Liebbe
01-19-2007, 09:06 AM
I stumbled across this on Craig's List - Houston last night.

I have no affiliation with or knowledge about the car at all.

http://houston.craigslist.org/car/257768682.html

Adam Ginsberg
01-19-2007, 09:54 AM
Wow...talk about deja vu. 85 GT A/S, #5, red/burgundy, same cage, etc.

Damn....$5500. You can't build that car for $5500.

Mike Bell
01-19-2007, 09:57 AM
That car has been for sale for several years off/on. If I recall correctly, last time I saw it posted the asking price was more like $14K lol. Guess the market is a bit soft...

Rob Liebbe
01-19-2007, 10:16 AM
That could be Adam's "backup" car.

AI#97
01-19-2007, 10:19 AM
off the top of your head....what would it take to make that CMC compliant? stock motor and....?

Adam Ginsberg
01-19-2007, 01:09 PM
Based on my SCCA A/S vehicle experience.....items that will likely have to changed, but not necessarily have been installed on this car, are:

1. Headers - aftermarket headers are permitted in A/S, but not in CMC. Stock headers only, the rest of the exhaust is free. Definitely easy to make a few $$ on aftermarket headers, and get stockers for free/next to free.
2. Intake - they don't typically use the CMC-permitted Edelbrock intake ( mine didn't, and I changed it ). CMC only allows the Edelbrock Performer intake ( part # 2121 ). Sell and replace with the 2121, and likely come out even, or possibly make a few bucks.
3. Rear suspension - A/S allows a TQ arm and rear weight jackers. I don't know if that car has any of those items, but if it does, they have to be removed. A PHB is permitted in CMC. Sell and make $$.
4. He lists GT40 heads, and roller rockers - GT40 heads are now legal in CMC, and only Ford 1.7RR's are permitted. Basically, the stuff a stock 93-95 Cobra came with.