PDA

View Full Version : The value of weight, or lack there of...

Boudy
05-02-2011, 08:32 PM
I am curious what effect weight has on lap times. Since weight is used as an equalizer in many areas of our series I assume there must be some standardized assumptions used as a reference.

Just wondering what's being left on the table by us guys running 100+ lbs heavy.

Boudy

edrock96GT
05-02-2011, 09:54 PM
Well, at Cresson I was about 2-3 seconds a lap off of Dr. Frank and about 4-5 seconds off of Marshal and I'm about 270lbs over weight.

That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it. :D

michaelmosty
05-02-2011, 10:50 PM
If you are 100 lbs over then I would do everything possible to remove the weight. Obviously certain platforms are easier than others and things change if you have an accusump, fire bottle, big oil pan, extra cage bars, cool shirt, etc.
I am not an engineer but from what I know the weight doesn't play that big a factor until you reach the limits of the tires, brakes, etc and the performance starts going away.
That being said each individual needs to use their platform to the best of their ability utilizing their specific advantages. In the fox's case it is like hitting a brick wall with regards to aero but is the lightest platform. I had a disadvantage on the 4th gens on the straight but could capitalize more later in the race when the tires started to fall off. Sam is just a freak of nature and would gain on everyone everywhere. :^)
Just take that bLinG wing off, it isn't needed on a CMC car anyways. :^)

way2neary
05-03-2011, 06:44 AM
I think Marshall needs to "weigh" in on this topic. As I recall, the less weight you have, the more effective your brakes become. So under that theory, given the same hp to weight ratio, a lighter car would be able to brake later. Especially when you factor all of us are using similar brake setups.

Just mt 10 cents.

BryanL
05-03-2011, 10:24 AM
For some it maybe a need to leave something (food) on the table.(laughing)