PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...

Pranav
04-28-2012, 12:32 AM
Hey guys, Pranav Patel here, guy who bought Mitch's black car. After about 8 years of Autocross, and a couple of years of LeMons, I decided earlier this year to move up the ladder and join y'all in CMC :D

I've probably met most of y'all at MSRH and MSRC this year, brought the white rental v6 mustang to MSRC, and will be out at TWS this Sunday in another rental Mustang.

Been doing a piss poor job of documenting the process on Facebook while I work on it:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10101659695518754.3467243.8332673&type=3&l=643b237cac

Right now it's sitting in College Station having the cage and driveline put in it, hope to get it back in a week or so, and am aiming to have it ready for the June DE/TT event at H2R.

David Love AI27
04-28-2012, 04:13 PM
Make sure you paint some of it orange... just sayin'

Rsmith350
04-29-2012, 09:32 PM
Good to meet you this weekend, will enjoy watching your car build.

Fbody383
04-30-2012, 09:06 AM
Make sure you paint some of it orange... just sayin' That's just wrong... Pranav, keep us up to date and let the smart guys know if you have questions.

Pranav
04-30-2012, 11:14 AM
Thanks, right now I'm making sure all of the welding and heavy fab work is done before I get the car back; Glenn and Mitch have done a pretty good job of keeping me on the right track with the fab work.

In regards to engine breathers, am I correct in assuming that I CANNOT weld a new fitting in place of the factory breather fitting, and I CANNOT add a breather fitting to the driver's side valve cover?

I've looked at cars at events, a bunch just run factory setup untouched, some have a can, etc. If I need to do something, my current thought is to plug the hole in the side of the TB, and have a hose from the trans breather and the hose from the valve cover(s) run into a simple vented catch can. I'd mount it up high, far forward, and run as much hose as possible for drain back.