PDA

View Full Version : Need help from gun guys

ShadowBolt
08-09-2012, 09:29 AM
I'm thinking about getting a small 380 to carry in my pocket. I know a 380 is not much gun but a 9mm or 45 is impossible for me to carry wearing jeans and a Polo type shirt (my normal work attire). Jay and I are thinking about the S&W 380 Bodyguard. Jay has found a place with a great price. Just looking on the web I think I like the Sig P238 a little better. I have my dads old Sig 45 auto he carried when he was with the DPS and I really like the Sigs. I have a lot of knowledge about shotguns but know almost nothing about pistols. Anyone have thoughts on a pocket carry pistol?

I know I could be like BL and carry a bigger gun in a fanny pack but I can't pull off the fanny pack look like BL can.

JJ

edrock96GT
08-09-2012, 09:56 AM
I'd really look into a compact .45 just for the stopping power. A .380 will get the job done most of the time simply because the psychological impact of getting shot is enough to stop most people, but in some cases where adrenaline takes over, they can continue to function after being wounded (although they might die 10 minutes or so later) and that defeats the purpose of stopping an attack. If you're not dead set on a Sig, the Glock 30 is a nice small pistol that is not too much bigger than the Sig P238.
If you don't have to wear your shirts tucked in you could carry it in the small of your back.
A .357 Sig would be my next choice after a .45 but they don't make as many models in that caliber.

cobra132
08-09-2012, 12:11 PM
Look at the sig 938. Its a little bigger than the 238 but holds 7 9mm rounds. FMR

Crumpacker
08-09-2012, 12:26 PM
I've been researching carry pistols that I could conceal in work clothes (slacks & dress shirt or polo). Size and weight were definitely a factor (that's what she said?). I narrowed it down to 5 to start with:

Sig P238
S&W Bodyguard (.380)
Sig P938
S&W M&P Shield (9mm or .40)
Glock 26 (9mm)