PDA

View Full Version : torque wrench

ShadowBolt
06-18-2013, 11:01 AM
Kathy gave me a new Craftsman torque wrench about two years ago. It screwed up and now Sears says it is only a one year warranty. Any ideas on a good wrench for our racing duty? I read thet Snap-on used to build the Lowes units but now Craftsman does. My Snap-On lasted thirty years but they are $300.00 now! Looking for your thoughts.

JJ

AllZWay
06-18-2013, 11:29 AM
One of the car magazines recently did a test of torque wrenches and showed that the cheap one from Harbor Freight was almost as accurate as a Snap-On.

I have been using the same cheap harbor freight unit now for 10 years or longer.

I couldn't find the actual test online...but here is some information about it.

http://blog.harborfreight.com/car-craft-reviews-torque-wrench/4328/

... I found the article....

http://www.carcraft.com/techarticles/ccrp_1304_torque_wrench_testing/

ShadowBolt
06-18-2013, 02:55 PM
One of the car magazines recently did a test of torque wrenches and showed that the cheap one from Harbor Freight was almost as accurate as a Snap-On.

I have been using the same cheap harbor freight unit now for 10 years or longer.

I couldn't find the actual test online...but here is some information about it.

http://blog.harborfreight.com/car-craft-reviews-torque-wrench/4328/

... I found the article....

http://www.carcraft.com/techarticles/ccrp_1304_torque_wrench_testing/

Thanks James

BryanL
06-18-2013, 03:30 PM
Kathy gave me a new Craftsman torque wrench about two years ago. It screwed up and now Sears says it is only a one year warranty. Any ideas on a good wrench for our racing duty? I read thet Snap-on used to build the Lowes units but now Craftsman does. My Snap-On lasted thirty years but they are $300.00 now! Looking for your thoughts.

JJ