PDA

View Full Version : Cost to haul a car to the track

mach1
07-01-2014, 01:36 PM
Anyone know what it would cost to have someone transport a car to and from the track? I'm guessing this is charged per mile, I've heard $1.50/mile. Anyone have experience with this?

Wade
07-01-2014, 02:05 PM
If you have to ask then you can't afford it?

mach1
07-01-2014, 02:13 PM
If you have to ask then you can't afford it?

Was that a statement or a question? I'm just trying to get a ballpark idea on what it costs. I'm considering getting rid of my towing setup, trying to weigh my options.

Wade
07-01-2014, 04:35 PM
I have no experience in this area but make the assumption that it is quite costly. Considering the fact that you will still have to drive yourself to each race, you wouldn't be saving much in fuel. I know one person who felt that it would be cheaper to rent a U-Haul trailer for $69.99/trip, rather than pay $60/mo storage for one that he owned, but after missing an event due to UHaul losing his reservation and not having a trailer available, he decided it was better to maintain control of his own trailer. Unless you a paying a race team to store/prep/deliver your car and then pick it up and take it back to their shop, I wouldn't trust a "normal" auto carrier to stick to your schedule. If you can afford a team for your prep, please move up to AI. Too rich for CMC :-p

Suck fumes
07-01-2014, 05:11 PM
The only time you might save some gas money is if the event is really far away and you just fly there and have it transported. But it just depends how far away it is. Going to Texas tracks would be cheaper hauling it yourself.

kbrewmr2
07-01-2014, 05:22 PM
About the only way I'd expect my car to make it there reliably to all TX region events would be to get it onboard with one of the Spec Miata shops that trailer customer cars and their own rental cars. If they have room for you. And then who knows how much that costs....?