PDA

View Full Version : T56 Transmission Fluid

rleng1
08-09-2018, 02:44 PM
What are y’all using for transmission fluid. Yes, I’m changing the transmission fluid for nationals.

Fbody383
08-09-2018, 04:33 PM
Probably wrong guy to ask but I use Royal Purple.

Al Fernandez
08-09-2018, 05:46 PM
I’ve been using synthetic power steering fluid since 2001
Well, not the same fluid but you know what I mean.

Pranav
08-09-2018, 09:55 PM
I've been running plain non synthetic pennzoil synchromesh. It's a touch notchy when cold but shifts like butter after the first warmup lap.

The tremec guy here in TX said for what we do the shear resistance and protection of synchromesh is better than just running dexron iii, and to run the pennzoil (also valvoline, which is just pennzoil in their bottle) synchromesh.

For a street t56 I would run regular dex III to avoid the notchines/wear from cold shifting.

Then again I also ran synthetic redline D4 for four seasons and when we took it apart to do the LS conversion everything still looked great, so I have no idea lol.

drecords
08-09-2018, 10:44 PM
I've been running plain non synthetic pennzoil synchromesh. It's a touch notchy when cold but shifts like butter after the first warmup lap.

The tremec guy here in TX said for what we do the shear resistance and protection of synchromesh is better than just running dexron iii, and to run the pennzoil (also valvoline, which is just pennzoil in their bottle) synchromesh.

For a street t56 I would run regular dex III to avoid the notchines/wear from cold shifting.

Then again I also ran synthetic redline D4 for four seasons and when we took it apart to do the LS conversion everything still looked great, so I have no idea lol.
Pennzoil...eww

centerville
08-09-2018, 11:21 PM
My track car has had redline d4 in it almost since new, 15 years. Fluid changed every year.

Sook
08-09-2018, 11:39 PM
I thought synchromesh fluids would be bad for transmissions that don't have brass synchronizers?

Pranav